AndreSurfer

Beyond the News

Attack in London makes me really frustrated about religions

There is a very popular song from REM called “Losing My Religion” which I really like. I am not a big fan of REM but this hit is really cool. The melody is great and the way how REM’s front man sings it is so captivating! Plus, this song goes along to what I have been feeling about religion: I am starting to lose mine!

I was born in a Christian family and, obviously, I followed this doctrine in my young ages. Initially, I used to attend masses in Catholic churches, later I moved to Baptist. Nowadays, all that I know is that I believe in God, talk to him, respect him and see him everywhere, especially in the nature. When I enjoy a beautiful sunrise or fascinating sunset God really proves his existence to me.

The sun shines for all, a trully presence of God Photo: Andre M. Pinto

The sun shines for all, a trully presence of God Photo: Andre M. Pinto

However, I did visit for several times in my life temples of a variety of religions, and I am cool about that! I remember once in Bali, Indonesia, in 2009, that I travelled through various Hindus temples in the island. It was great! In one of them, my wife and I arrived at the moment when an event was about to start. They asked us to wear a special cloth around our legs, which we immediately accepted, so we could attend the ceremony. It was really beautiful, though we could not understand a word! Nevertheless, I must say that Hindus are pretty quiet in comparison to some Christians.

Later on, we watched another incredible ceremony. People had to cross a kind of pool with water up to their waist and shower themselves under different sculptures aligned against the wall. Each of shower was cleaning the person from something bad, but one of the sculptures had to be skipped – it was sort of a bad god (the equivalent to Demon for Christians). Great experience!

A Hindu ceremony in Bali, a place to fulfill your energy Photo: Andre M. Pinto

A Hindu ceremony in Bali, a place to fulfill your energy Photo: Andre M. Pinto

The cleaning ceremony is sacred for Hindus, the last shower on right must be avoid Photo: Andre M. Pinto

The cleaning ceremony is sacred for Hindus, the last shower on right must be avoided Photo: Andre M. Pinto

Before Bali, I lived in Australia where the Muslim community is huge! And I had the opportunity to work with several Muslims. They were great! And to be honest, in some of our conversations about religion I could even identify some similarities between Christian and Muslim doctrines. Muslims are very respectful people, honest and the way how they adore God is really touching.

One of my good Muslim’s friend was Jotty (I do not know his real name, but that is how we used to call him), a great funny guy from Bangladesh. He was very humble, always available to help others. Jotty could go along with anyone. I cannot remember a day when he was not smiling! Really, if I would stay in Australia any longer hanging out with Jotty, perhaps I was today a Muslim too. They seem to be very happy people.

From left to right, my good friend Jotty, me and Dan - partying in Sydney Photo: someone with my camera

From left to right, my good friend Jotty, me and Dan – partying in Sydney Photo: someone with my camera

For all that, I am very said with what happened this week in London. How could someone kill another person in the middle of a street and simply stand there with hands full of blood shouting loud nonsense craps? I am sorry, this might be about religion, but it is nothing to do with Muslims.

Later after this tragic incident, I read some headlines on Yahoo! saying that Londoners are fed up with the Muslims and will do their own justice. To illustrate the call the website published a picture of some men wearing balaclava, drinking beer and showing their fists! Would that be the end of the world? People are killing each other and do not even know why!

That is, in reality, pathetic!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 24, 2013 by in English, General.
